Beautiful places I’ve visited (with street view)

For a while I’ve been fascinated by the passing moments captured through windows. It sounds strange but I spend most of my journeys with my face unattractively squashed up against the window waiting to see some beautiful, fleeting moment pass me by. If you follow me on instagram, you’ll know a great deal of my photos are taken from the windows of trains, coaches, cars and planes. I am amazed by the idea that you can pass by a view so moving and picturesque, and miss it entirely by being too concerned with reaching your destination.

Naturally I also have an obsession with Google street view’s ability to plunge me into the depths of the unfamiliar. By dragging that little orange man I can be zapped into any part of the world, I see what the camera sees, a fleeting moment immortalised in virtual streets.

For this post I decided I’d explore the United Kingdom through the Google street view camera’s lens. The results were incredible.

Outer Hebrides Google StreetviewThe Outer Hebrides

Urquhart Castle Loch Ness Google StreetviewUrquhart Castle and Loch Ness

Loch Ness Google StreetviewUrquhart Castle and Loch Ness

Ben Nevis Google StreetviewHighland Cows near Ben Nevis

Stonehenge Google StreetviewStonehenge

favourite fountains abbey 3Fountains Abbey

Yorkshire Moors Google StreetviewYorkshire Moors

Yorkshire Moors Google StreetviewYorkshire Moors

Beach in Scotland off A859Beach in Scotland near A859

All images Copyright Google 2014.

4 thoughts on “Beautiful places I’ve visited (with street view)

  1. I like all these shots, but the third one is INCREDIBLE. I can just feel the mystery and magic in the air… Thanks for sharing this. It reminds me of a trip I took there nearly 25 years ago. Lord I’m old…

    • I agree, the third one is truly spectacular! Perfect positioning of those fluffy milky clouds! I’m so glad my post encouraged some reminiscing! I love Loch Ness, used to visit loads as a wee lass but since I live in England it’s difficult to get out there. So impressed with street view’s ability to let us visit once again :)

Leave a Reply

